Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello from The Netherlands
Hello everybody,
My name is Beer van Huet and I am 64 years old, married with Cynthia, have 3 kids and am a retired airforce pilot.
During a military tour in California in 1994, there was an active motorcycle club on base and Cynthia and I started riding a motorcycle as well. Not knowing anything about motorcycles, I wanted to buy a Harley Davidson initially, but those were the days that HD's were in great demand. So the dealer, hearing that I wanted to export the motor abroad,  told me that it would take at least 6 months before he would have my model available. I got the impression that he was not eager at all to sell me a bike, he told me he had a waiting list of several bikes he could easily sell down the road instead. Needless to say, I did not get back to him and ended up with a Yamaha Virago 1100 from somewhere else. Later, I was still regularly flying to the US and when the Valkyrie came out in 1997,  I instantly fell in love with the bike.